Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Congressman Andy Harris

Representing the First District of Maryland

A Drought Relief Update from Congressman Andy Harris

September 10, 2012
Press Release

Washington D.C. – The United States Department of Agriculture recently designated 13 Maryland Counties as primary natural disaster areas because of damage and losses caused by drought and excessive heat that occurred from April 20,2012, and continuing. I joined my colleagues in the Maryland delegation in support of the request for this disaster assistance to drought-stricken farmers.


I have attached  the letter from the Department of Agriculture regarding agricultural disaster designations in Maryland for the primary counties of Anne Arundel, Calvert, Caroline, Cecil, Charles, Dorchester, Kent, Prince George's, Queen Anne's, St. Mary's, Somerset, Talbot and Wicomico.

Benefits are also available for the contiguous counties of Baltimore, Harford, Howard, Montgomery, Worcester and the Independent City of Baltimore. 

The following counties in Maryland have also been designated as contiguous counties under a separate disaster designation for the state of Pennsylvania (Carroll and Frederick).

Farmers in designated counties can apply for emergency loan assistance.

Please contact USDA's Office of Congressional Relations at (202) 720-7095 if you have any questions or concerns.



Please click on this link to open attached document.